History of Key Women of America, Inc, Mount Vernon Branch

Due to a deep interest and awareness in the many problems in the Mount Vernon community, a group of 8 dedicated women met at the home of Mrs. Willie Gray on January 14, 1967, thus the Mount Vernon Branch of Key Women of America, Inc. was launched. Mount Vernon is the fourth chartered branch of the organization.


Mrs. Gray, the organizer, served as the first president. The original group soon grew to 22 members and the branch received its charter in 1967.


The first project of the branch was a contribution of one hundred dollars to the Mount Vernon Day Care Center.


Through the years the branch has continually expanded its work and services to the Mount Vernon community. Included in its program are a Nursing Home Visitation Ministry, distribution of Thanksgiving Baskets to the needy and a Christmas Party for Senior Citizens. Donations of school supplies are given annually to the elementary schools. Donations are also given to the Mount Vernon Girls and Boys Club, the Mount Vernon Public Library and the United Negro College Fund. The branch is also a Life Member of the Mount Vernon Branch of the NAACP.


Through the efforts of a dedicated member Cleo R. Smith, a scholarship fund was established in 1975. Since then annual awards are given to graduating seniors of Mount Vernon High School, Mandela/Zellicoffer High School and Nellie Thornton Magnet High School. The scholarship fund is now renamed the Cleo R. Smith Memorial Scholarship Fund of Key Women of America-Mount Vernon Branch.

The Mount Vernon Branch proudly sponsored a Keyette Youth Group for young ladies ages 12-18. They volunteered their services at nursing homes and assisted the senior branch with projects. They also attended educational, cultural and social events.


The steadfast support of family, friends and the community has enabled the Mount Vernon Branch to fulfill its mission: “Investment in Children and Service to the Community”.


Past Presidents

Key Women of America, Inc. Mount Vernon Branch

Reverend Wilie Olivia Gray

Beatrice A. Ball

Elizabeth Wood

Blanche Woodley-Rodwell

Lucille Mitchell

Doris Faulkner

Joyce Fox-Lee



*Lisa Copeland

Doris Faulkner

Josephine Fulkner

Clara Hammett

Gwen L. Jackson

Joyce Fox-Lee, President

Jacqueline Press

*Carol Rasbury

Rev. Anne Saunders

Louise Shaw

Diane Watts

Cheron Wilson


*Inactive Members



Our future goals are:

  • to celebrate the 50thanniversary of our branch in 2017!

  • to increase our membership

  • to continue doing the work of our founder


  • Black Facebook Icon

© 2017 by Key Women of America, Inc.