The South Ozone Park Branch of Key Women of America, Inc. was founded on August 28, 1971 at Morris Brown AME Church located at 145-03 Rockaway Blvd., South Ozone Park, New York. Mrs.Lorraine L. Warren was the organizer and recruited eleven members. On September 10, 1971, the branch received its charter and the following officers were elected and installed.

President                               Lorraine Warren

Vice President                       Jeannie Banks

Recording Secretary             Mattie Castro

Corresponding Secretary    Sadie Stewart

Financial Secretary               Willie Mae Jones

Treasurer                               Anita Page

Chaplain                                Rev. Ernestine Ward

Our Founder and National President Bertha Nelms Harris and First Vice President Ivy Louard installed the officers and branch members at The Hotel Theresa in Harlem, New York.


Key Sisters in this branch are always motivated, dedicated, and determined to make a difference in the communities. Projects consisted of annual donation of $500.00 to Jamaica Hospital Pediatric Ward for supplies and equipment .We present annual holiday baskets to senior citizens, sick and shut ins and other persons in need.


Our branch and some of its individual members have been recognized for “First” and other accomplishments. This branch became the first African American organization to have projects of its own at Jamaica Hospital.


President Lorraine Warren received an award for the South Ozone Park Branch Blood Replacement and Cancer Rehabilitation Service at Jamaica Hospital by then Mayor Abe Beame. Founder and National President Bertha Nelms Harris was invited and attended.


Key Sister Katherine Clark became the first African American President of the Jamaica Hospital Combined Auxiliary. Key Sister Emily Collins, Second Vice President of the branch became the second president. Key Sister Lorraine Warren held various offices on the National level, first as treasurer, second as vice president and finally as national president.


In 1995, the branch established the annual Elinor B. Roker Scholarship Luncheon in her honor. Key Sister Roker worked tirelessly in the branch and the community until her death. August Martin High School, a local public school, was selected to receive our scholarship for a deserving student entering college. Students are selected by grade point average, economic need, and college acceptance. Presently, the school has been reorganized and the branch is no longer affiliated with the school.


The South Ozone Park Branch has been a charter member of  Key Member of America, Inc. for 32 years. We lost our beloved president Nina Greene this year, and two other members. We morn their passing, but are vigilant to carry on.


President                          Annette Webb

Recording Secretary        Patricia Jerry

Treasurer                          Elizabeth Newell

                                          Dorothy Parker

                                          Jessica Walker

We may be small in number, but we are strong in dedication and determined to carry on the legacy of our branch.

  • Black Facebook Icon

© 2017 by Key Women of America, Inc.